JonnyJon’s Graphic Novel & Trades Collection

As anyone who has been listening to the show should know, I don’t have any love for single issue comics. I don’t have the cash, the space…or most importantly a comic shop anywhere within my quadrant.

However, despite my proclamation that for me, digital single issues trump paper copies, don’t let it be said I don’t like a book or two.

Recently, Simon was pondering what to get me for Christmas, and realised he didn’t know what I already had, so I offered to put a list together to help him avoid buying me a present I already own – an act for which I would never forgive him. While doing this I thought sod it, I might as well shove it on the blog, it’s always possible some nutter will be interested.

So before I break it down, here’s what the collection looks like in full.

And unfortunately this next book needs a section to itself.

DC:
Wednesday Comics
There really is nowhere else to store this big bastard.

DC:
Absolute All-Star Superman
Absolute New Frontier
Absolute Planetary Volumes 1 and 2
Absolute Kingdom Come
Absolute Watchmen
JLA Omnibus Volumes 1-4
Batman and Robin Volume 1

MORE DC:
Starman Omnibus Volumes 1-6
Swamp Thing Omnibus Volumes 1-4
The Spirit Book 1 & Book 2
Green Arrow: Year One
All-Star Superman Volumes 1 & 2
Because it’s good enough to own twice.
JLA Year One
Identity Crisis

EVEN MORE DC, PLUS SOME VERTIGO:
Akham Asylum
Justice Society of America: The Next Age
Justice Society of America: Thy Kingdom Come Volumes 1-3
The Mighty Volumes 1 & 2
Green Lantern: Rebirth
Green Lantern: The Sinestro Corps War Volumes 1 & 2
Green Lantern: Secret Origin
Green Lantern: Agent Orange
Green Lantern: Revenge of the Green Lanterns
JSA Vs. Kobra
JLA: Justice for All
JLA: Strength in Numbers
JLA: World War III
I kept these JLA trades when I upgraded to the Omnibus editions, as they all feature stories by writers other than Morrison which are not collected in those.
The Death of the New Gods
Superman: Red Son
JLA / Avengers
Justice League International Volumes 1 & 2
Sleeper Seasons 1 & 2
Planetary: Crossing Worlds
Checkmate: A King’s Game
Checkmate: Pawn Breaks
Checkmate: Fall of the Wall
Outsiders / Checkmate: Checkout
The Losers Books 1 & 2
Animal Man Volumes 1-3

VERTIGO
How to Kill Your Boyfriend
The Sandman Volumes 1-6
Preacher Volumes 1-9
Transmetropolitan Volumes 1-9
Fables Volumes 1 & 2
We3
Pride of Baghdad
Doom Patrol Volume 5
Haven’t read any Doom Patrol as yet, but the library was selling off this one for a quid so how could I refuse?

MARVEL
Marvels
The Mighty Thor Omnibus
New X-Men Omnibus
Astonishing X-Men Omnibus
Captain America Omnibus
The Death of Captain America Omnibus
Avengers Forever
S.H.I.E.L.D. Book 1
Marvel Boy
The Death of Captain Marvel
Squadron Supreme

MORE MARVEL
The Silver Surfer Origins
Fantastic Four: Doomsday
The Uncanny X-Men: Dark Phoenix
The Uncanny X-Men: Days of Future Past
Nextwave: Agents of H.A.T.E.
Infinity Gauntlet
New Avengers Illuminati
Death’s Head Volume 2
I was a big fan of Death’s Head as a kid, and Volume 2 features the stories I remember so fondly. Didn’t care much for Volume 1 so it went on Ebay.
Young Avengers Volumes 1 & 2
Supreme Power Volumes 1-3
New X-Men Volumes 1-7
See earlier comment about owning All-Star Superman twice!
Bullet Points
Fantastic Four: Authoritative Action
Fantastic Four 1-2-3-4
Fantastic Four Volumes 1-3 of the Hickman run
Civil War Young Avengers
X-Men First Class Volume 1
Captain Britain and MI:13 Volumes 1-3
Fantastic Four: True Story
Avengers: Galactic Storm
Another one I got from the library for a quid. I haven’t read it yet. Have heard it’s not good.
Inhumans
Astonishing X-Men Volumes 1-4
I own the omnibus, the trades, the single issues and the motion comic! Plus something else I will be posting about after this!

ULTIMATE MARVEL AND A BIT MORE 616 MARVEL
Ultimate Comics Doomsday
Ultimate Marvel Team-Up
Ultimate Origins
Ultimate Spider-Man Volumes 3-22
I gave 1 and 2 to Chris to get him into Ultimate Spidey…just remembered I still need to re-buy them!
Ultimate Requiem
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man Volume 1
And this is where my Ultimate Spidey Collection starts to look stupid.
Ultimate Spider-Man Chameleons
“Ultimate Comics” didn’t last very long did it?
Ultimate Spider-Man Prelude to Death of Spider-Man
Runaways Volumes 1-8
Because it stopped being good after that.

THE JOSS WHEDON SHELF
Spike: After the Fall
Angel Season 6 Volumes 1-9
I know it’s not officially Season 6 but that’s what I call it. Most of this series is very underrated and was better than Buffy Season 8.
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Tales of the Slayers
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Tales of the Vampires
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: The Origin
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 Volumes 1-8
Serenity: Those Left Behind
Serenity: Better Days
Serenity: The Shepherd’s Tale

MISCELLANEOUS
Charley’s War Volume 1
If the memories of my youth are correct, this is the greatest war comic ever. Need to get hold of the rest of this.
Godland Celestial Edition Volume 2
American Flagg Volume 1
Asterios Polyp

The Incal
Kick-Ass
Incognito
Afrodisiac
Star Wars: Dark Empire Trilogy
Queen and Country Definitive Editions Volumes 1-4
Barry Ween: Boy Genius
Incognegro
I attended a comic storytelling art course hosted by the underrated Warren Pleece, and he signed this excellent Vertigo book.


MORE MISCELLANEOUS
Scarlet Volume 1
SMAX
Promethea Book 1
Crecy
Godland Volumes 1 and 2
Fear Agent Volumes 1-3
The Pro
Chew Volume 1
Myspace Dark Horse Presents Volume 1
Think I bought this due to it having a Whedon story.
Scurvy Dogs
Milk and Cheese
Seaguy Volume 1
Simpsons Comics Unchained
Incorruptible Volume 1
Bone
Fortune and Glory
Penny Arcade Volumes 1-6
Pedro and Me
Project X Challengers: Nissin Cup Noodle
Project X Challengers: Seven Eleven

So there you go! I’m sure you found that hugely interesting, and hopefully Simon will be able to figure out a suitable present now.

If you’ve got any comments, email thwippingboys@gmail.com

JonnyJon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “JonnyJon’s Graphic Novel & Trades Collection”

  1. Jon’s Best of 2011 Awards – Comics « Thwipping Boys Says:

    […] I think the digital age spells the end of physical comics? Heck no, I love my collection and intend to continue adding to it. But I’ve never been convinced by the format of paper […]

Leave a Reply

