Astonishing X-Men Coffee Table Decoupage!

It might not come as a surprise to learn that I like the other Thwipping Boys am a bit of a Joss Whedon nut, so when it came to his and John Cassaday’s spectacular run on Astonishing X-Men, I not only broke my cardinal rule and bought single issues, I even bought some twice due to variant covers.

A few years later, realising that this probably was a little excessive and having since bought it in trade and Omnibus, I put all of my second copies on Ebay and was soon disappointed to learn what other comics collectors know all too well – that single issues of popular modern comics aren’t even worth pennies, even with variant covers.

I was having a clear out to free up space, couldn’t justify keeping them, couldn’t sell them and didn’t want to bin them. The upshot is, I had just about decided to find a random child to present the comics to (without getting arrested) as it seemed like the only choice left to me, when I spied my rubbish £12 Argos coffee table in the corner and had a crazy idea.

One pot of PVA, one pair of scissors, one pot of varnish and many, many painstaking hours later:

 

If you’ve got any comments, email thwippingboys@gmail.com

JonnyJon

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Astonishing X-Men Coffee Table Decoupage!”

  1. WT Says:

    This is bad ass.

  2. Emmett Furrow Says:

    Any chance you saw my X-Men #1 toilet from a couple of years back?

Leave a Reply

